Adventures in Mommyland: I Love My Hair

since becoming a first time mommy almost 5 months ago, more and more lately i always wonder what kind of positive black female images will my daughter have? growing up, the images i had were the ones created for me by my mom, so you already know im going to do the same. but, too often ive come across little girls who are unhappy with their hair, their skin color and they way they look. i once met a little girl who was no more than 2 and her mother had already not only put relaxer in her hair but braid extensions! i always wished that i could have whisked this little girl away to a magical place, even if it was just for an hour, where all of our shades of brown , curled hair and full lips and hips are not objectified or hyper sexualized but appreciated, thought as beautiful and genuinely loved but we must create these magical places ourselves, in our own minds.

i remember watching this video before i became a mommy and i loved it (one because ive been natural for almost 6 years and two its SESAME STREET duh!), now that i am able to watch this video with my lil cuppycake (who gave such a big smile watching it) i love and appreciate it even more….

ENJOY! ❤

(ps. you can find the I Love My Hair t-shirts at www.welovefine.com i think i want the yellow one)

is that Solange singing?

About blushb

born&raised in new york 25 virgo college grad mom future wife pretty poodle artist aspiring writer makeup/natural hair/nail care obbsessed lover of all things pink, glitter&cupcakes preparing to take over the world= My LiFe* enjoy the ride View all posts by blushb

Leave a comment